Monday, July 14, 2008


Sabah MPs will back no-confidence vote: Jeffrey


PartiKeadilan Rakyat (PKR) Vice President Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan claimed that a number of Barisan Nasional (BN) Members of Parliament, including from Sabah, will support PKR’s vote of no confidence against Prime Minister Datuk Sen Abdullah Ahmad Badawi in Parliament today. “When the resolution is adopted or given the green light by Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia, all the Opposition MPs, including many from BN, will support the no- confidence resolution,” he told The Borneo Post on Saturday during his thanksgiving party on his recovery from an accident that hospitalised him on December 20, 2007. However, Jeffrey did not disclose the names of the BN MPs who would back the resolution. Among the 500-plus attendees were PKR Sabah Deputy Chairman Christina Liew, Datuk Nahalan Damsal, Dr Chong Eng Leong and DAP Sabah Secretary Stephen Jimbangan. Last Thursday, PKR President Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail sent a letter pertaining to the vote of no- confidence rn the Speaker. “Malaysians are yearning for a change and the vote of no confidence has their moral suppbrt, but their MPs would support the motion. “All opposition MP will support the motion and a number of BN MPs, including from Sabah, will also lend their support to this significant event,” Jeffrey said, adding he would be making a PKR roadshow throughout the State very soon. Earlier, Jeffrey said he said he is “85 per cent” okay and is no longer using a walking aid. I now can play golf, but I still can’t run. But I’m thankful to the Almighty and everyone for their concern and moral support,” he told the well wishers present.

No comments: